Return to Headlines

Schools of Distinction

Ninety-one schools from across Washington state received the 2018 School of Distinction award in December for sustained improvement over a five-year period in English language arts (ELA), math, or graduation rate. Twelve of these schools are from Capital Region ESD 113.

Every year, the Center for Educational Effectiveness (CEE), in partnership with the Association of Educational Service Districts (AESD), the Association of Washington School Principals (AWSP), Washington Association of School Administrators (WASA), Washington State School Directors’ Association (WSSDA), Washington State Association of Supervision and Curriculum Development (WSASCD) recognize schools in the top 5% of improvement for their levels. Elementary and middle schools are recognized for sustained improvement in ELA and math achievement. High schools are recognized for sustained improvement in graduation rate over the past five years.

This year represents the 12th year that CEE and their partners have recognized schools with the School of Distinction award. This award is the only award of its kind in the state that recognizes schools for sustained growth and improvement over time.

Schools in Our Region

  • Aberdeen — Harbor High
  • Adna — Adna Elementary 
  • Centralia — Centralia High
  • Elma — East Grays Harbor High
  • Grapeview — Grapeview Elementary & Middle
  • North Beach — Ocean Shores Elementary
  • North Thurston — Horizons Elementary
  • Olympia — McLane Elementary and Thurgood Marshall Middle
  • Raymond — Raymond Jr Sr High
  • Toledo — Cowlitz Prairie Academy and Toledo Elementary

Learn More: